Retired Fireman’s Political 5 Alarm Fire

March 23, 2008

Happy Easter!

Filed under: The Fireman's Fav's — Retired Fireman @ 12:03 pm

True Meaning Of Easter

On Good Friday, I found myself reading from the Bible to my 8 year old daughter, the story of Christ’s Passion.  She has been taking a real interest in all things religious lately, starting around christmas time, and I have been doing my very best to keep her interested in it, without filling her head with too much, or getting her bored and thereby turning her off and away.  She, like most children, is struggling with the concept of The holy Trinity, and I have to admit, after 12 years of Catholic education, many years of independent study of other religions including Paganism and Wiccanism as well as Islam, I find it difficult to explain as well.  However, she does show a certain faith and understanding that transcennds most people’s beliefs, including some priests that I know, and I have had some really incredible discussions with this little genious my estranged wife and I have created and brought into this world.

We went ahead last night and decorated our eggs, two dozen in all, and my 10 year old spent a great deal of time really doing a number on hers.  She used pipe cleaners, “googly eyes”, glitter, sequins and made some really spectacular decorations.  My 8 year old used a white crayon with me and we made some neat designs of our own, and then she wrote a note for the Easter Bunny, left out some lettuce for him along with the note and off to bed we went.  My wife stayed over last night, and thanks to her, she did a really wonderful job of making sure that the easter bunny showed up, left a really nice note back for my 8 year old as well as took the eggs that we had decorated and hid them out in the front yard along with some plastic ones so that when the girls awoke this morning, they were able to find their baskets with the obligatory chocolate bunny, the marshmallow peeps, (my personal favorite along with the Cadbury Creme Eggs) and then ff we went in search of all that Peter Cottontail had left for the girls to find.  It was a truly wonderful morning that could only have been made better if my wife and i could settle our issues and she were to have come home and we could move forward with our family.  I was again reminded of how wonderful she is and how she helps to make all our holidays so special not just for me, but for our children. 

For those of you that know me and have followed my blogs as they have moved from place to place, you know just how important family is to me, and how special we make each and every holiday, especially for our children.  Right now, our money situation is really tight, since she has moved out and we are having to pay two rents, two utilities and such, so I was really worried about having anything for our children this easter.  Yet my wife came through, and although it was not much, she made sure that it was a really nice and special Easter morning for our girls, and I only hope she knows how much I appreciate it and how wonderful I think she is.

This is the most important day in the Christian Calendar.  It is the Easter Holiday that the entire Christian Religion is founded and based on.  It is the promise of jesus’ death and subsequent resurrection from the dead, as was foretold three days later, that was the cornerstone of our entire faith.  Had Jesus the Christ only been hung on the Cross, died and placed in the tomb and then stayed there, rotting away and never risen from the dead, we would all either be Jews, Pagans or some other religion that would have been started in the interim.  There would be no Islam, no Christianity, no Christmas, no Easter, no St. Patrick’s Day, no St. Valentine’s Day…in fact, there would be a great deal of history that just plain would not have occurred.

There is a war going on right now…while not a traditional war with gun, bombs, cannons and such…but a war none-the-less, against Christianity and all it means.  People in this country just plain hate Christians, what they stand for, what they represent, their Holidays, their tenets, and the fact that to be a Christian might just make someone a better person and keep them from sinning; just might mean you cannot do all those things that Liberalism says is just fine to do.  The backlash of what happened in the 60’s and 70’s is just now seriously being felt, and while Liberals deny it, there is really no denying the impact that Christians face on a daily basis.

There are attacks against Christmas every year.  Each year more and more public places are being told that they cannot display anything having to do with the true meaning of the holiday, which is the celebration of Jesus the Christ’s birth.  liberals are attempting to turn it into something that it is not, even removing the name “Christmas” all together.  If you go to any Liberal website, it does not take long in perusing their comments section before you are assaulted but some of the most foul, most obscene, violent comments directed towards Christians and Christianity that you will ever see. 

I do not know if these assaults come from a fear of the unknown, if something has happened to these people in their past that affected them, or if there is just some other thing that has affects their common sense, but I am sure that psychiatrists would be able to understand and explain it far better than I can.  I personally do not understand the fear that these people have over a faith that espouses and tries to get people to be better persons.  It tries to get people to help other people.  It tries to get people to love one another.  In fact, it tells people to, “Love one another as you would love yourself.” 

Jesus, the person whom Christianity is based on, was a peaceful person.  He obeyed his parents, he did what he was told when he was young, and even took care of his family when he was older.  He was loyal to his friends, he helped the poor.  In fact, if you ask me, he would have been a Republican.  Why do I say that?  Because he told people to take responsibility for their own actions.  He used the “Parable of the Talents” to tell people not to sit around and do nothing, not to wait for someone or something to take care of them or take care of their things, but to get off of their buts, use the talents that God had given them and make something of themselves.  Only in that way would they become better people.  He told people that God only helps those that help themselves.  That meant that God would not help people that sat around and just waited for “Divine Intervention”  God would only help people that were trying to better themselves.  If the people were working hard, were trying to better themselves, then God would help.  God did not like lazy, worthless people.  basically, God hates people on welfare.  (Yeah, that is my opinion, but it fits.)

I was born and raised Catholic, and wandered away for a long time.  Recently, after I came within two hours of dying due to a serious staph infection that had invaded my lymphatic system five years ago, I found myself going back to the Church, and taking a bigger interest in all things Christian again.  I have used my knowledge of all other religions, including Paganism…which the early Christians/Catholics incorporated into their faith in order to convert the early Pagans, to bring myself closer to God. 

I believe that Jesus really did exist.  I believe that modern science has actually found more proof that He not only existed, but that the stories of Him and what He did in the Bible have been proven more so than not.  I believe that the Shroud of Turin is, in fact, the burial shroud spoken of in the Bible.  I believe that while the stories in the Bible and Parables were told in a way that uneducated and illiterate people in those times could understand them, the historical aspects are true.  I do believe in a Higher Power.  I do believe that Jesus was God brought to earth in the form of man.  I believe that God can speak to all of us if we just listen.  I believe that all you have to do is look at the beauty and wonder that is this world, that all you have to do is look up at the stars, see the vastness of space and the universe and know that God does exist and that we are here to love each other, to be the best person we can be, to leave this place just a little bit better than when we got here, to use our talents to the best we can, to harm no one, to do unto others as we would have them do unto us, and to live good, just lives. 

I also believe that Judaism is just as good as Christianity.  I believe that the only major religion that is evil and wrong is Islam.  That Islam, by it’s own words, it’s own rules, tenets, holy books, is evil, wrong and should be abolished.  I believe that no amount of Political Correctness or Mulit-Culturism in the world will ever make it the “Religion of Peace” it claims to be and that anyone who is stupid enough to believe that lie deserves everything that they will get from it.

And lastly, I believe that this is the day that the Lord has made.  let us rejoice and be glad.  Today we celebrate Easter.  the Holiest of Holy Days in the Christian Calendar.  The day when Jesus the Christ conquered death.  The day when He saved us all from our sins and allowed the Gates of Heaven to be opened up forever.  Through His sacrifice, His painful Passion, we have all been saved and through Him, all things are now possible. 

I wish you all a very Happy Easter, and try not to eat too many eggs, and parents…don’t eat the ears off your kids chocolate bunnies.

RF

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

